Write an essay to an educated reader to discuss whether governments should invest in space travel or not.

There are plenty of controversies about whether governments should invest in space travel or not. As far as I’m concerned, this investment in space is unnecessary. First and foremost, the exploration is time-wasting and costly but may lead to failure. According to my knowledge, it can take up to several months and years to attempt. And, millions or even billions of dollars are being used to explore space. The tremendous advantage is that the attempts may not deliver any positive results. With this great deal of time and money, the government can look up more enhancing projects for the citizens of poverty. Moreover, not only the testing process but also on space missions lead to a big amount of waste. To invest in space travel, the country must face the matter that high levels of fossil fuels like oil and gas are being reduced. This also implies that space travel will worsen the Earth’s environment by burning lots of fuels. In turn, the people who lived near the facilities may suffer from serious health problems like lung cancer or asthma. Instead of dedicating these missions and decreasing resources, we must deal with problems from the planet that we’re living on - Earth first. Why should we degrade the Earth when it is already badly polluted? Last but not least, space exploration may bring risks from radiation for the astronauts like cancer or destroyed organs. On the other hand, astronauts’ rate of suffering from cancer is much higher than normal people. Generally speaking, the government should not invest in space travel due to its loss.