Write an essay (250 words) about the topic. Sometimes it is better not to tell the truth. What is your opinion?

During childhood, we were always taught to go against falsehood and that “honesty is the best policy”. Obviously, it is quite reasonable as being truthful is essential when it comes to building a trust between one and another. However, sometimes we might end up deciding to deceive someone rather than telling the truth after considering that it is conformable to that situation. From my perspective, I firmly agree that in some circumstances, telling lies is a wiser choice and justifications are as follows. To begin with, the truth might be harmful to people’s feelings in some cases and telling lies is the only way to protect them from having mental breakdowns. For instance, when a patient has no idea about her suffering from an incurable disease, the doctor may have to determine on disguising it in order to avoid throwing her into disarray. To be specific, mentally weak people are not likely to be able to endure a disheartening truth. Thus, being dishonest becomes the unwilling solution to ensure their safety when unexpected things turn out to be real. Another point worth noting is that sometimes truthfulness can create a negative impact on your career path and reputation. For example, when you write an application for a job, being too honest and listing down all of your weaknesses do not mean that you are a truthful candidate from the employer’s perspective. Instead, he might even consider you as an amateur, which will definitely lower the chance of your application being accepted. Hence, the lies in working-related issues will not matter if you are determined to make improvements. In the final analysis, there are always some situations in our daily life in which people have to settle on whether to be truthful or dishonest. In my opinion, telling a falsehood is considered to be a wise choice if the benefits outweigh the harm. However, it is indispensable taking the circumstances into consideration before telling any truth or lies.