Write a story about your name

My name is Jasdeep. I was born on May 10, 2007 and named the day after that. In my religion people usually go to the gurdwara and they draw a letter and the parents usually name their child with that letter, but my parents let my grandparents choose my name instead. My grandma named me Jasdeep because of what my name meant. The meaning of Jas is a person who sings god's praises and deep means diya/diva lamp. Jasdeep means lamp radiating god's glories. My grandparents either wanted to name me Jasmeet or Jasdeep, but in the end my family chose to name me Jasdeep because 2 of my cousins' names were already Jasmeet. My name originates from India and the ethnic origin of my name is Sikh. My nicknames are Jas, Jazzy and deepu, but I prefer to be called Jasdeep. Everyone in my family calls me Jasdeep, but my mom calls me deepu and some of my friends call me Jas or Jazzy since these nicknames are a short form of Jasdeep. I personally like my name because of the meaning of my name and because it is easy to pronounce and there's no wrong way of pronouncing it. Jasdeep is a unisex name since most names in punjabi can be. When I first came to McClure everyone thought that I was a boy because someone in our school was named Jasdeep and he was a boy. This was the only time that affected how I felt about my name, but I still like it. My middle name is Kaur and it is a symbol of equality in both men and women in the Sikh religion. Kaur means princess. Kaur was given as a middle name to all Sikh women and Singh was given to all Sikh men in 1699 by Guru Gobind Singh Ji (The 10th guru of the sikh religion). Some people use Kaur as their middle name and some people use it as their last name. My last name is Brar and it is a Sikh last name that comes from the Jatt caste. Every last name has a different history and some people have last names based on their ancestors' villages or castes. In Sikhi they have a caste system and every caste system has a history. The people in the Jatt caste used to be farmers and they still are. Some of the castes in Sikhism are Kahrti, Jatt, Ramgariha, and Chamar. This was the story behind my name.