write a opinion essay about the statement “literature is the total experience of the universal man and eternal truths, not just a chronicle of a civilization”.

Since ancient times, literature has appeared and become the spiritual food of people. When authors create literary works, they often bring into the works their own stories, emotions, and experiences. Indeed, there is a saying that "literature is the sum total of universal human experience and eternal truth, not merely the chronicle of a civilization". I wholeheartedly agree with this statement, and this essay will clarify and illustrate this point. First of all, the chronicle is an element often included in literary works. Many literary works have depicted historical issues and the author's attitude about those historical events. In fact, as a citizen of Vietnam, learned through many Vietnamese literary works, some English and American literary works, the historical element is often found in the clear. the work of artists in these three cultures. In Vietnamese literature, there are many poems or literature that refer to historical events that the author experienced. Works such as "Tay Tien" by poet Quang Dung, "Viet Bac" by To Huu are clear illustrations of the existence of history through poetry. The famous work "Rip Van Winkle" of American literature is also a clear illustration of the historical element preserved through literature. In this English Literature 1 course, there are also works containing great historical events, and I will refer to "Sonnet 29" written by William Shakespeare for clarification. The main theme of the poem is the power of love to make up for the hurt and failure that a person has to endure. In the first stanza of the poem "sonnet 29", the author revealed his lonely and abandoned life, and it seems that these sufferings and loneliness are caused by events and historical contexts at that time. the author is going through. When William Shakespeare wrote the poem "Sonnet 29", he experienced two traumatic events. The first event occurred in 1592, when the London theaters were closed due to the outbreak of the plague, and his life became difficult. The second event also occurred in 1592, when the dramatist, Robert Greence made offensive comments about Shakespeare. These 2 historical events are probably the cause of the author's negative emotions in the poem "Sonnet 29". Second, literature reflects the artist's profound experiences of life. In each work, the author often infuses their own stories and experiences, and so does Ssonnet 29". William Shakespeare brought his unfortunate experiences into the poem by expressing loneliness, abandoned situations in the poem, and in that situation he found the power of love, which can raise him up to happiness, despite misfortune and failure in life. William experienced despair and self-doubt, then he thought about his beloved and his mood changed, he found love is the way to help him improve. improve his mood and self-esteem. Love is also a great compensation for him, he is not as rich as he would like, but love gives him another form of wealth which is spiritual wealth. Through the poem "Sonnet 29" William Shakespeare recounted what he went through and expressed his life experiences. The author clearly realizes that the strength of the spirit, the power of love, or the wealth of the spirit is important in human life. Third, in terms of external truths, are eternal truths that last forever. Is literature considered eternal truths or not? Some literary works often take eternity as the subject of their creation. Romantic love poetry writers often like to write about eternity in love. Some other poets get inspired to write about eternal truths such as humans will have to face death, nature is always changing, etc. The poem "The Nymph's Reply to the Shepherd" by author Walter Raleigh also contains eternal truths in it. Nature, scenery always changes under the change of seasons and weather or is the law of nature. Spring does not last forever, its replacement will be winter which is an irrevocable fact. Flowers can't stay fresh and beautiful forever, but will fade with time, rivers will not be as calm as spring but will also become raging when winter comes. This is the law of nature, an eternal truth that no one can change. These facts are also to clarify and impress the change in the shepherd's feelings for the beautiful girl Nymph. When Nymph received Shepherd's promises of a dream life and his love for her, Nymph responded to Shepherd with changing images of things. The girl believes that the shepherd's feelings will change with time, as well as the withering of flowers and the desolateness of the fields. As the Author borrows eternal truths to illustrate Nymph's view of love. In conclusion, all of the above-mentioned factors and literary works already throw light on my personal viewpoint about the statement "literature is the total experience of the universal man and eternal truths, not just a chronicle of a civilization" is true. Literature will be the place to contain the living experiences of the entire human race, the eternal truths that people can draw, and literature will also record the historical events of mankind. From there, literature can be considered as a source of knowledge and experience found out from the previous generation to be passed on to the next generation, and literature will become useful documents for people.