Healthcare administration in Nigeria

ALE OLUWABUSOLA - M. Sc. HEALTHCARE ADMINISTRATION I am the first of five children in a family from the western part of Nigeria. Naturally, this places huge responsibilities on me, and as such, I grew up with the "superwoman" complex. I saw myself as a helper, and this helped build a huge sense of empathy within me. My desire to help people live better and more comfortable lives was increased after I read "Gifted Hands" by Dr. Ben Carson. I was impressed by the way he gave people hope and nursed the dream to be like him. This little dream magnified itself into reality when I chose to study medicine in school. As a graduate of medicine, I am not oblivious to the delinquencies in healthcare management in Nigeria. Health administration is the coordination of health services in any state. Health administration is an integral part of the health system of any country. Nigeria is plagued by healthcare maladministration. In my fourth year in the university, I realized how counterproductive some of the policies guiding Nigeria's healthcare system are and how much they had on the people's health and chances of survival. I then concluded that, as a doctor, I could go beyond my consulting room of changing one life at a time to effecting change in many more at once if I had the opportunity to manage healthcare on any level. My desire to pursue a Master's program in the Department of Healthcare Administration at the University of Iowa is born out of a burning thirst to garner requisite knowledge needed in effecting the needed changes I crave to see in the Nigerian healthcare sector with a special focus on rural healthcare development. With a Bachelor of Medicine (BM) and Bachelor of Surgery (BS) from the prestigious Afe Babalola University, Nigeria, I have been exposed to various aspects of healthcare in general. My search for knowledge has seen me attend various training and work in tertiary healthcare centers. I have acquired adept knowledge on the challenges burdening Nigeria's healthcare system in my search for knowledge. In Nigeria, primary healthcare is the bedrock of healthcare in that it is the first point of call for every patient before referral to secondary or tertiary healthcare centers if need be. However, it is quite sad that primary healthcare, which is supposed to be the first point of contact on health issues that do not necessarily require a consultant, is lagging due to some factors I am privy to. I currently work as a medical doctor at a Nigerian federal hospital, and I have continuously observed that Nigeria is beleaguered by poor management of human resources. No health organization can function without people that are adequately skilled, enthused, and productive. However, these key qualities would be absent if the health workers are not properly paid or are understaffed and overworked – a reality common to general healthcare systems in Nigeria. The concept of human resource management cuts across recruitment/hiring, evaluation, promoting, retiring, and firing of personnel; if these are done adequately, it creates an environment for patients to receive the best healthcare. African governments must realize that adequate budgetary allocation is a vital step towards empowering healthcare organizations. To achieve the set goals, financial disbursement and monitoring must be properly monitored. Additionally, many healthcare facilities in Nigeria are grossly unequipped. This is especially true for rural areas. Sadly, most of the available facilities with capacities to carry out heavy medical operations are only accessible to the rich due to their expensive services. Seeing the numerous challenges, I have made a conscious decision to, in my capacity, work towards righting the wrongs in the system by putting my efforts into high-quality research, teaching, and outreach, hence my decision to apply to this program. Choosing to study at the University of Iowa is a carefully thought decision. For more than 170 years, the university has conscientiously built a global community of renowned scientists, pioneering new knowledge in the medical field. I am particularly looking forward to working closely with Professor Clinton MacKinney and Professor Keith Mueller because our research interests -healthcare management and public health- align. I want to engage them in research to find better ways to deliver quality healthcare to rural areas and make healthcare affordable while maintaining good quality in Nigeria. I have spent much time admiring the university in pictures, and it would be a dream come true to be physically present there, especially as a student. Besides my educational pursuit, I look forward to adventures at the Maquoketa Caves, National Mississippi River Museum, and Aquarium. Within the next 5-10 years after completing my program, I would be better positioned to work with other enthusiasts of good healthcare on policies that would ensure efficient management of resources to provide the best healthcare for every individual. This is no mean feat, as I would have to work hard to prove my worthiness of positions that can afford me the privilege of creating healthcare policies, but I am ready. Also, I would like to work with an international health body like the World Health Organization. I look forward to gaining more knowledge and honing my skills in healthcare management, coming up with insightful ways to adequately manage human resources, financial resources, ensuring that patients experience well-coordinated and organized healthcare. I hope to be with you very soon, thank you very much as you consider my application.