Write a composition about the benefits of learning English.

English has taken over the world in recent years due to the colonization of the Europeans in the seventies. As a universal language, English helps bilinguals to obtain a plethora of communication skills as well as career prospects. The main benefit a person gains when committing to learning English is the ability to communicate with foreigners and create a wider range of connections across the globe as there over 150 countries speak English as a foreign language. For example, when traveling to a non-English speaking countries like China or Philippines, bilinguals can easily approach local people and have a better grasp of their cultures as a result of English communication. In addition, learning English means students can access to a greater variety of information. In fact, most of information on the Internet is in English. While ordinary students can only acquire academic knowledge and one-dimensional news of their country in their mother language, multilinguals can obtain both national and international news as well as knowledge about linguistics, cultures, people, tradition, etc in different parts of the world. Another advantage of engaging in English language learning activities is the increase in hiring potential. English has long known as a means of communication in business. It creates an appealing credential on aplicants’ resume and boost their hiring opportunities. Recent research has also shown that those who enter workforce with second language fluency expected an additional 15% annually pay bump. Those evidences above show the enormous advantages, though only partial, of learning English in our modern life. In sum, having admitted the great potential of English, each of us should start our own learning path from now.