Write a comparison/contrast essay about 500 words on the similarities/differences between distance learning and learning in classroom

It is true that computer and internet use has grown tremendously in recent years and the expansion of the Internet has brought a profusion of advantages to the world in every aspect and education is not an exception. Owing to technological devices, a wide range of learning platforms has been born, which provokes a tug of war between online learning (distance learning) and learning in classrooms. Whilst many students have a predilection for distance learning, others are prone to traditional one - learning in classrooms. Depending on learners’ inclination, they can ruminate about some pivotal differences: flexibility, the interaction of students and the chance to gain knowledge to choose the most fitting one. There are several distinctions between them, but first and foremost, flexibility is the most prominent. With regard to flexibility, E-learning is superior because it provides students with full control and accountability for their learning. Rather than having to show up to a class as a requirement, they are able to decide and allocate time and location for their learning. For example, some students may work better in the evening but traditional education may restrict them by only offering classes during the day. Additionally, they also have the advantage of learning at their own pace which can help to alleviate a lot of pressure and take command of their learning processes. Teachers in traditional ways often speedily run through concepts and then follow up with a task that students are required to complete. The flexibility of online learning allows students to slowly grasp concepts and ensure full comprehension before moving forward. This ultimately leads to them retaining information and producing better results. The second issue is taken into consideration is the reciprocal interaction of students with teachers and their peers. Firstly, in terms of contact between teachers and students, classroom learning is more fruitful and convenient than E-learning. When studying online, it becomes difficult for students to clear the doubts, whilst they can more straightforwardly consult a teacher for further clarification if they learn in classrooms. With the aid of face-to-face communication with teachers, students can manifest their ideas or opinions to have a deeper interpretation. Secondly, when it comes to the interaction among students, it seems difficult to consolidate a steadfast relationship by learning online. Conversely, interactions and teamwork in real life will not only help them form a close-knit friendship but also learn from each other. Briefly, in the aspect of interaction, learning in classrooms has advantages over learning online. The last comparison is the variety of sources of knowledge. In the digital technology era, learners can access the wealth of materials and find anything they wish to know to improve their individual potential. Moreover, students can acquire a great deal of knowledge from innumerable online platforms with free of charge or small fees. Conversely, learning in classrooms with rigid curriculums has limitations in the plenty of materials, because students nearly depend on their teachers. In sum, the advantage of the sources of materials of learning online is overweighed by learning in classrooms. To sum up, it is true that people have differing views about how to access education, and each of them prefers different learning styles and techniques. However, with the comparison mentioned above, I prefer learning online to learning in classrooms.