Write a 200 word report describing problems and solutions relating to a Sustainable Development Goal in Vietnam.

The Sustainable Development Goals or SDGs were brought out by The United Nations in 2015 to help countries all over the world develop in a comprehensive way. There are 17 SDGs that integrated with each other in order to end poverty, preserve and protect the environment, and also ensure that all of the countries’ residents can enjoy peace and prosperity by 2030 (UNDP, n. d. ). Even though Vietnam is considered as one of the countries which recorded a remarkable economic growth of 6. 7 percent despite the COVID-19 pandemic (ADB, 2021), however there are still many issues need to be solved. This essay will be concentrated on Vietnam’s progression of SDG number 4 “Quality education”, especially providing education for the minorities and outline some problems and possible solutions. The primary reason why many ethnic minority students are not allowed to go to school is mainly the lack of acknowledgement that their parents have about education. Most of the ethnic students are in difficult situations as they are from low-income households and their parents would rather them working to make a contribution to the family’s monthly income than studying and waste money on education – which is claimed as not essential. As a consequence, the literacy rate among the minority group of people is much lower compare to the Viet or Kinh people; and many young girls are forced to have marriage at ages of 13, 14. In order to tackle this issue, beneficial policies towards ethnic students have been made and brought out by the Vietnamese government. Giving extra points for students that come from ethnic minorities, for example, will create more opportunities to enrol universities courses; or the students do not need to pay their tuition fee. In addition, teachers will go to every household in the village to inform both parents and students the right attitude towards learning, raise awareness in education (Tung D, 2020) and also the advantages of education. After all the hardworking, it is recorded positive outcome results as parents are now willing to let their children go to school. In conclusion, Vietnam still needs to focus more on providing education for everyone if they want to improve their economy and positions.