Would you prefer to take exams online or offline?

The issue of taking online examinations is currently a lot of people’s interests and debate. Despite some obvious disadvantages of this scenario, I believe that these are outweighed by the advantages, and I support the idea of taking the test online. On the one hand, there are several major drawbacks when conduct online exams. The first drawback is that the examiners are difficult to control whether the candidates cheat during the exam or not. For example, with the endless treasure of knowledge online today, when taking an online English test, candidates can search for answers with just one click; or they can text to ask friends and relatives to help solve a math problem. Another negative effect is many entrants do not qualify enough to take the online exams. They may have network problems while taking the test, even some students do not have devices such as laptops or mobile phones to take the test. On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantages. Firstly, online exams can be held at a flexible time frame. The organizers can adjust the schedule to suit the time of the candidates. In addition, by not having to travel to the test site, candidates can save travel time. Moreover, they can avoid unnecessary risks when traveling such as traffic congestions, traffic accidents, etc. Finally, applying online exams is a good measure to not disrupt their studies. Especially, during the time affected by the Covid-19 epidemic, people have to follow social distancing, taking the online examinations is necessary so that the learning progress is not delayed. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I prefer taking online examinations.