Worldwide population growth

Everybody can agree that technology and research (especially in chemical, engineering and medical areas) have improved a lot our lives. This is the main reason why the population has constantly grown in the last decades, but while on a hand this phenomenon is a sign of welfare in the majority of countries all around the globe, on the other one it has determined a complex issue: overpopulation. Humankind is constituted by almost 8 billion of people and this means that the resources of our planet are not enough for everyone. As a matter of fact, it has been estimated that we consume the annual auto-regenerated resources of Earth in just five months; furthermore the resources are not equally distributed, in fact many people in the western countries waste water and food everyday while in many regions of Africa and Asia, they are luxuries, and in overpopulated countries (like India) this problem is even more evident. The solution to this phenomenon is not easy to find, because even if a country puts a limit on the number of offspring that a family can have (as China did in the last decades), it is fated to have a lot of elderly and few young people, causing big damages to the economy. In conclusion, the point is not to put a limit on the births, but promoting and implementing a more sustainable lifestyle, starting with green power, a healthy nutrition and looking forward to a fairer distribution of resources.