the response to the financial crisis, and perhaps not enough deficit spending as a response.

you talked about the response to the financial crisis, and perhaps not enough deficit spending as a response. My question is, are deficit spending and increased taxes on the rich tools that should be used in conjunction? Could you talk about their applications and their uses together or alone? Okay, let me give you. . . I've been trying to figure out how should we pay for a progressive agenda. Put it that way. There's a bunch of things we should be doing, we should be clearly spending quite a lot more, especially on children, and we need to be spending on infrastructure, and there's a whole bunch of things. We're talking significant amounts of money, and I would say that basically anything that can be reasonably considered to be an investment in the future, it's okay to finance with deficits. Real interest costs for the US are very, very low. Interest rate is below the growth rate of the economy. You've got people like Olivier Blanchard and Larry Summers saying that deficit fears have been vastly overblown. I think we are in a situation where we shouldn't be worrying much about deficits. However, that doesn't mean that you can completely blow it away. And so pieces of that program that would require sustained spending and are really more about social justice than about crime law stuff, that's both investment and social justice. But there's also a fair bit of stuff, that's just social justice. And I would say that you want to pay for the social justice parts by higher taxes on the rich. So that the two go in conjunction, I would say both some increase in or better-targeted deficit spending, because we're doing a lot of deficit spending right now, but if it were running deficits, to pay for stock buybacks, but a combination of deficit spending on investment, and taxing the wealthy to pay for social programs is the way I would go. Will you talked about the intersection of trade and corporate taxes and tax avoidance? It seems like we are in an endless game of whack a mole with a very inadequate hammer. And I want to understand what the whole picture needs to look like if you could design it. Okay, corporate tax avoidance by profit shifting to tax havens, is a significant thing, although, it's not a 100%. Because if the ability to globalize where profits are reported was unlimited, then we wouldn't have seen a decline in corporate tax receipts after the Trump tax cut. So obviously, corporate taxes were collecting a significant amount of money despite all of that. But to the extent, it is an issue. Look, it's a handful of small countries where this stuff is being, where profits are realized. We' really are talking, Ireland, Luxembourg, and then the financial industry is the British Virgin Islands, that sort of thing. The major economies have got plenty of leverage to force those tax havens to shut down. If we had a coordinated move on the part of the G7 to say this must stop. it would not be at all hard to do it. So you just need an agreement. You need to have progressive governments and enough of the major economies, actually to a large extent. I think basically, if the British and ourselves, I think the Germans and the French would go along, were to say we're going to have a crackdown on the tax havens that would do it. Even starting to move a little bit in that direction. So, it's one of those problems that is not hard technically, it's a political thing. If widespread tax avoidance through international tax havens persists, it's because interest groups within the advanced countries want them to persist. And the moment we decide that's not going to happen it will stop happening, It's just an easy problem to solve with the right leadership