spend money on railways or roads

There is no doubt that investment in the transportation infrastructure is one of the most important duties of government. While some people believe that authorities should spend money to enhance railways, others think that it is better to improve road foundations. In my opinion, I agree that governments ought to spend money on the railways as it will be beneficial in reduce traffic congestion and increase the reliability of the trains. To begin with, investing money in the rail network by governments could reduce traffic jams on roads. In other words, providing efficient train services would encourage people to leave their cars at home and use public transportation like trains and subways. As a result, there would be fewer cars on the roads and this means less traffic congestion. This also has a direct impact on the air quality because trains use electricity instead of petroleum in cars which is not environmentally friendly. Another point to consider is that spending money on railways to develop a proper network leads to reliable and punctual trains. A precise schedule of trains could put an end to train delays which result in reducing the commuting time. This can influence individual well-being due to the availability of more leisure time as it is a contributing factor in life satisfaction. In conclusion, governments should build efficient railways by investing money in this structure because it would improve the reliability of trains and reduce commuting time.