“World governments should conduct serious campaigns against smoking”.

One of the paramount problems facing humanity today is the burgeoning popularity of smoking. There have been a lot of heated debates whether stringent policies against this activity should be implemented by the governments worldwide. From my perspective, it is wise to enforce strict measures to deter people from smoking. Perhaps the most effective line of reasoning on the part of those who advocate this idea is that it helps to protect the welfare of the whole community. In fact, not only is smoking detrimental to the smokers’ own health but also does great damage to surrounding people. Besides, research has shown that passive smokers even stand a higher chance of having bronchial troubles, heart disease and lung cancer as they inhale toxic fumes from products of the tobacco industry. As a result, if rigorous restrictions of smoking are put into practice, there will be a smaller number of smokers, thus, fewer innocents suffering from dire consequences of other’s actions. Another key component of this case is that rigid policies against smoking serve as a deterrent which discourages young generations to take up the habit of smoking. It is a startling fact that cigarette-selling enterprises pour a large sum of money into launching advertising campaigns that are either insidious or dishonest. That is to say, on every packet of tobacco, images of virile, clean-shaven young men are depicted, which tempts the young into associating smoking with a way to polish their outlook. To put it in another way, an increasing number of people will imitate the act of smoking so as to appear cooler in other’s eyes, hence, gradually turn into tobacco addicts. Under these circumstances, stern measures against smoking, especially on its advertisements will prevent misled images from interfering with the young’s logical cognition. To conclude, I would argue that serious campaigns against smoking should be implemented on a global scale as their ability to assure society’s well-being and dissuade young generations to follow the wrong path is concerned. It is predicted that the whole community will lead a healthier lifestyle and the healthcare system will be under less pressure if the policies soon turn into a reality.