Working at a large multinational corporation is believed to be favorable for professional and personal development to some extent. Besides, there are still many people who are convinced that a small local company can better provide promotion opportunities for workers.

Working at a large multinational corporation is believed to be favorable for professional and personal development to some extent. Besides, there are still many people who are convinced that a small local company can better provide promotion opportunities for workers. In this essay, I will analyze the reason behind two opposing views and give my personal opinion. It is understandable why many people advocate that large and multinational companies are the better choice. The merit of this is the employee may stand a chance to access other kinds of knowledge and culture, that meeting, associating and working with those colleagues and boss who have experience and proficient skills can help them to develop. In addition, they can also enhance the social relationship once they can adopt that environment. However, this also brings the disadvantage that sometimes, especially with the newbies, a too professional working environment may be unsuitable and challenging because of high expectations and requirements, even leading to the difficulty of integration. Others have reasons to support the small local company, that in those companies, the employees are capable of being easily promoted because their colleagues are not too professional and they are not supposed to be too competitive. If people target a higher position and quickly reach a better salary but not personal development and knowledge, a small company is more appropriate. Obviously, the minus point is people do not have opportunities to access distinguished skills from other employees, while those around them may even not be as experienced as them. In conclusion, large multinational corporations and small local companies have their own plus points. Employees who can deal with the challenging place and difficulties, may be able to extend such knowledge while the others can have more promotion opportunities that are also beneficial for their future careers. From my viewpoint, I would prefer the larger company, but the choice still depends on people’s inherent demands and abilities.