Women movements for gender equality and to establish rights have changed gender roles. Some people think that this has led to an increase in juvenile delinquency and divorce rate.

Feminism, has challenged many traditional concepts on gender roles and raised various relevant issues. While some people think that empowering women will have a deleterious impact on society, others argue that it will improve the quality of their lives, both at home and at work. This essay evaluates the impact of feminist movements on the social, political and economic life of women, and examines whether it has led to an increase in juvenile delinquency and divorce rate. To begin with, the collective assertiveness of women to establish their economic and political rights, and to struggle for equal opportunities in career is justifiable. In the changed global economic scenario, women should not be sidelined, as they have been exploited socially, economically and politically for ages. For instance, in some areas of India, my country, women are generally not free to travel at nigh, work and to marry as they prefer, due to cultural and religious restrictions. As such, it is natural for them to strive for equality with men, when they are deprived of their fundamental rights. However, it is true that there is an enormous increase in juvenile delinquency and break-up of relationships these days, but attributing all these to feminism is not rational. Alcoholism, drug addiction, physical assault and paranoia are but a few of the reasons for divorce. Juvenile delinquency has both genetic and environmental reasons. INstead of holding on to male chauvinist prejudices there are many men, who lead a contented family life, adapting to the changes in lifestyles. If women are accepted as they are, and their right to live with dignity and gender equality is respected, the chances for divorce will be remote. After analysing the above views, it can be stated that, since feminism is the struggle of women for equal rights with men, the earlier it is accepted the better it is. Attributing all the reasons for the increase in divorce rate and juvenile delinquency to movements of women, to my mind, is the manifestation of gender bias as it is a subjective approach. It is hoped that women empowerment will be taken positively by the future generations, without any bias or prejudice.