With the widespread use of the Internet, more people choose to work or study from home. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

With the arrival of the world wide web more and more people are relying on the internet and prefer to work or study from home because of the convenience. Technology has made our lives easier, faster and more comfortable. I believe this trend has greater merits than demerits. I will support my viewpoint with relevant examples in the subsequent paragraphs. Firstly, because of the widespread use of the Internet people are able to connect with each other across the globe enabling them to work or study together. Unlike in the past you are not required to travel and waste both your time and money just to convey messages as it can be done with the help of various gadgets with an internet connection. For Instance, due to the current pandemic situation, we are required to maintain social distancing and most of the MNC's around the world have instructed their employees to work from home. If we did not have the required technology, it would have negatively affected the business, thereby shattering the economy around the world. Secondly, educational institutions nowadays promote students to use tablets or laptops for studying purposes. Due to the Covid-19 situation schools and colleges conduct classes through various softwares such as zoom, Webex etc. For example, In India the government took an initiative to provide laptops and wifi connection to the underprivileged students of the society so that there would be no hindrance for their education. However, on the other hand, despite the many advantages of digitization, it also has a few demerits. Nowadays people rely on gadgets too much and even during their leisure time they are glued to their seats and prefer to binge watch various programmes on applications such as Amazon prime, Netflix etc. This type of sedentary lifestyle can be detrimental to their health and in the long run they are prone to various ailments. In conclusion, Although there are a few demerits of using the Internet, it certainly has made our lives more convenient and faster.