With the rise of nanomaterials

With the rise of nanomaterials, colorimetric sensor arrays face new opportunities and challenges. A promising manner to further improve the properties of arrays for bioassay applications is to activate sensitive receptors with particular nanomaterials, including optical NPs such as quantum dots (QDs), UCNPs, metal nanoparticles (MNp) / nanoclusters (NCs), Silica NPs (SiO₂) and metal-organic frameworks (MOFs), gold nanoparticles (GNPs), organically modified silicates (ormosils, e. g. , silica gel), molybdenum disulfide (MoS₂ QDs), dyes due to aggregation, small dyes molecular fluorophores, semiconductor oligomer/polymer nanoparticles, and graphene oxide (GO) nanoparticles. one of these nanomaterials is metal nanoparticles, which the small size of MNPs offers them unique properties that make MNPs very appropriate to be used in chemical and biological measurement applications. for instance, due to the small size of MNPs, which can be corresponding to the wavelength of visible light, free electrons on the surface of particles display a collective oscillation known as "localized surface plasmon resonance" (LSPR). metal nanoparticles supply them molar extinction coefficients several times larger than conventional organic dyes. further, the robust adsorption generated via LSPR particles could be very sensitive to changes in particle surroundings such as particle aggregation. these properties are very beneficial for assays applications and act as the basis of most MNP colorimetric sensors.