The cognitive benefits of bilingualism

According to the latest figures, technological advances had sufficiently served the analyst's scheme of researching the positive characteristics of bilingualism and were ready to be taken into consideration. It has been proven that acquiring an additional language may drastically enhance a person’s intellectual and motivational abilities, thereby identifying the arrays of it in the context of contemporary society. This essay will illustrate some culminations contributing to the strengths of being bilingual. In the first place, the improvement of concentration span is one momentous benefit of being bilingual. In fact, the process of learning foreign languages is akin to an exercise for the brain, which boosts the executive of the brain, fastens more attentional focuses on the relevant stimuli and ignores disturbing details. For example, cognitive linguistics experiments, with a special focus on the operation of the frontal cortex are the clear evidence for a significantly better concentration ability among bilingual people, compared to their monolingual counterparts. Therefore, those do altogether showcase that studying new tongues will make the brain healthier and more proactive, which, in turn, will render it more concentrating during our task completion. In the second place, learning a second language is such a great method for every social class of people so as to sharpen a human's mind. Owing to the statement that it effectively enhances multi-tasking skill and decision-making skill, which are related to the attention controlling ability stated above, being bilingual can greatly prevent one from hospitalization for mental illnesses, like Alzheimer’s disease. Namely, an empirical and quantitative study focusing on neurodegeneration and cognitive controlling and reserving showcase that the brain volume was systematically higher in bilinguals than monolinguals. Thus, bilingualism might indeed contribute to the brain's anti-aging process and sharpening. In conclusion, fostering deliberation and showing a practical cleverness observed in bilingual individuals are ameliorating the cognitive and neurological functions of one’s brain, which respectively highlight the pragmatic benefits of bilingualism. While there have been some arguments against bilingualism as a useless concept to follow, the pros of it demonstrated by science are altogether likely to outweigh the cons.