With the pressures on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed from the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects.

An ever-increasing number of graduates decide to work for a year before applying to either university or college in the majority of countries. Although there are such benefits as choosing an appropriate major and budgeting the money for the education cases, the trend also has some drawbacks, namely a possibility to forget beneficial information. One of the advantages is that by completing the work, students might save some budget for later purposes. It is undoubtedly that in almost all countries the tertiary education is paid, therefore, the opportunity to invest some time for working allows bachelors to pay for all tuition fees, accommodation, and daily spendings without interrupting their education. If people work right after school, they will be able to focus on their studies, instead of competing a part-time job during the education at universities. Another benefit is the possibility to realize the true future path during the work. Most students are not able to decide either their future profession or the main major at a university. In contrast, those who work some time would realize what kind of job is enjoyable for them. As the research in Oxford University depicts, among undergraduates, about 40% of them effectively selected their subjects after taking a year of working. But this development has such a drawback as losing knowledge which was obtained during school. For some countries, such as Russia and Kazakhstan, it is beneficial to pass the examination in order to apply for further education. Because of expending a whole year without learning, alumni might forget the acquired information that necessary for the required exams; therefore, they need to learn twice harder to acquire a high score than those who pass in the same year. According to the studies conducted in one of the Kazakhstan cities, approximately 60% of test-takers who have passed after working failed the examination. In conclusion, while students who work after school have some advantages, such as earning enough money for education fees and selecting the future profession, such a development also has drawbacks like forgetting necessary knowledge.