In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do this.

In the current world, there is an increasing number of different crimes. Although it is believed by some that a guilty should be punished for a longer period of imprisonment, I suppose that it would be better to use other effective ways. On the one hand, those who have done a serious crime should be restricted to imprisonment according to the law. Such guilty as murderers, hijackers, and criminals who attacked innocent people need to be given prison sentences in order to set an example for others. If people know about strict punishments, they would think thoroughly before disobeying the law. In most countries, the proportion of offenses started to decrease by 10% each year since criminals began to receive custodial sentences, according to the researches at Oxford university. Considering such actions, even if people will be in jails, there is still a chance that after leaving prisons they might commit a more serious offense. On the other hand, I consider that not all offenders should be punished in the same way, instead, judges may consider the people's motive to perform a sin. It is undoubtedly that the majority of people do not have the intention to harm someone, and if it is proved by a lawyer, it may be manslaughter. In such cases, it would be honest to give them community works or pay a fine to the witness instead of appointing the strongest execution. According to studies conducted in one of the Russian cities, among defendants who accomplished charity works and paid monetary fines were unlikely to disobey the rules and the proportion of criminals dropped to 30%. In conclusion, while some argue that lawbreakers should be given longer imprisonment by the legislation, I believe that some petty criminals should receive community service hours and fines as a penalty.