Scientists predict that in the future cars will be driven by computers. What are the reasons behind this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Travelling has been greatly facilitated by advanced technology in recent years. Scientist states that, ultimately, a car will be operated completely by computers in years to come. In my view, it can have both positive and negative consequences on society. One of the main disadvantages of the autonomous car is that it will have an undesirable impact on the employment rate of commercial drivers. There is little doubt that these people will be forced out of work when autonomous cars become a favourable preference. This leads to sheer concern about an associate consequence when the unemployment rate proliferates and eventually it causes a social burden on the government. For instance, uber and olay itself made huge negative impacts on an auto-rickshaw and taxi drivers as they lost their major customers due to more inconvenience provided by them. Considering the unprecedented fast-developing technology in recent years such a scenario is likely to occur in foreseeable future. However, we should consider these demerits are inevitable factors that accompany a handful of more significant benefits. First of all, the robotic vehicle can accurately navigate their way with less chance of making errors in judgment like human drivers do, hence, increase the safety of passengers. Majority of accident situation indeed come from where speed or alcohol involved, which would not be the case if the car operated by computer. For instance, In Singapore, they have already implemented robotic car in their roads and it’s a huge success as well, therefore, tremendous result in road safely. Moreover, we can experience a less traffic congestion from near future. In conclusion, these predicted appearance of driverless car will severely impact employment in transport industry and result a huge burden placed on government. Nevertheless, I do think, these negative consequence are the price we can accept to enhance the road safety and eradicate human errors.