With the increasing use and development of new technology, many machines are now able to do the work which people used to perform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The advent of new technology has meant that machines are now more than capable of doing many of the tasks that people used to do. There are both advantages and disadvantages of this development. The significant advantage of having machines do the work is their speed and efficiency. Machines tend to be much faster and more efficient at doing repetitive tasks such as those performed in factories. Besides, the human error factor is eliminated, further saving time and cost. The expensive initial outlay the machines require is definitely worth the investment because machines can be used for a long time. Infact, it is more economical than the human salary component, which includes sick leave, annual leave, etc. However, there are also several disadvantages. Machines cannot be used for every task, as the “human touch” is necessary for completing specific tasks. For instance, machines cannot interface with a customer or client in the same way as human beings. Nor can they create new ideas or concepts in the innovative way that people can. Machines are also incapable of taking the initiative. Besides, many machines require costly maintenance, which can reduce their overall cost-effectiveness. In conclusion, machines certainly have their place in society, supporting and freeing up people’s time, therby enabling them to concentrate on other aspects of work or life. But, they also have their limitations.