With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resource

The increasing demand for fossil fuels should not be met by exploring untouched resources. Exploiting natural energy supply can be an inexpensive way to fulfill global needs, however, this essay opposes that view. Oil drilling poses huge threats to the environment in the long run; also, today’s technology has opened up alternative ways to generate energy. Many energy companies resorted to building another oil well when they see an uptrend in global oil demand since the method costs the lowest. It only requires the assessment for oil presence and constructing drilling stations. However, the method is capitalizing on the deterioration of the environment. In an exchange for energy, natural resources are exploited; tons of greenhouse gas is emitted into the atmosphere; marine lives are engendered. One example is a frequently occurred oil spill incidence, which has put the ocean’s biodiversity in danger and polluted the neighborhood. Furthermore, innovation nowadays allows the shift towards clean energy sources. Solar panel price has been decreasing, making it more feasible than ever. Energy storage advancement provides an immense possibility to turn to renewable energy. As seen in many cities, governments have encouraged their citizens to install solar rooftops, with a goal to transform the area into a green city. In conclusion, discovering natural resources can be financially feasible but never in terms of the environment, since it jeopardizes the earth and its dwellers. In addition, switching to sustainable energy sources has become viable in modern days. Therefore, the world should respond to the growing demand for energy by generating electricity from renewable energy instead of exploring more oil and natural gas.