Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well.

As a matter of fact, community service is a great platform to help and understand people in need which promotes the development of empathy among the people in the society, so it is commonly believed that the mandatory involvement of teenagers in unpaid community work, for the benefit of both teenagers and community must be implemented. I both agree and disagree with this statement and the following passage illustrates and supports my argument. In agreement with this statement, social welfare services definitely promote empathy and understanding, because people belonging to different circumstances get to interact and support one other. Students participating in such activities will certainly have higher moral standards. For instance, a child working at old age homes will get to know the value of time and youth. In contrast, Firstly, Not every student will be available to perform community service in their leisure time as this can be the only time they get to pursue their interests and hobbies. Secondly, some pupil might be in a dire need of money, as some students have to pay their own tuition fee, and unpaid service will not be of any help to them. In addition to this, teenagers require a lot of time and effort for their education in order to be successful in their career; consequently, they will not be able to spare time for welfare work. In conclusion, Instead of making social service a compulsory task, every child must be educated about the advantages, encouraged and the rest must be left to their own discretion.