News media is important in our society. Why is it so important? Do you think it's influence is generally positive or negative?

Nowadays any kind of information is available at our finger tips thanks to the advanced technology and media. As we are very much aware of our surroundings, we should know at least about our country and for that media support is needed. Firstly, the news channels are 24/7 available and it gives us all kind of information around the world like, rallies, perticular group's hunger strike, latest prime minister's speech, news about bollywood and hollywood and so on, as well as media is planning a vital role for the most types of news. In a recent news for example, India has launched many fighter jets for border security, and because of media; every child, every age of people knows about it. Additionally the whole world is also getting the same information therefore India is getting more attention as well as our enemies are also feeling afraid of our fastest development. On the other hand every citizen has right to know what's going on in our nation. Here's also our national reporters are there to inform us, for example about our economy growth for instance, India's GDP growth is getting 2% higher, nation's prime minister is sharing new scheme for farmers, simultaneously leaders are asking public opinion through the news-media. Secondly reporters are always available for live streaming such as during terrorist attact in Mumbai 2006 and through the media our commanders caught them easily. In my opinion I conclude that there are more positive factors rather then negative, however every coin has two sides, but as a responsible citizen I would say that there are enormously advantageous of media.