With the increase in computer use, many people feel that schools do not need to put the emphasis that they used to on basic handwriting skills or mental mathematics skills. with this?

A majority of people think that there is no need to emphasise an importance of making students write characters and calculate numbers by themselves at school as computer usage is on the rise. This essay completely disagrees with this statement in light of the fact that human beings tend to forget how to write words easily and it has a negative impact on work performance. Human beings are significantly forgetful unless we try to keep using certain characters. Many students often struggle to recall a specific word or letter as they fully depend on the technology. That is to say, a phone automatically predicts what they are about to type in and correct it if it is wrong. The Japanese government collected data that shows a comparison between the approximate number of adolescents’ vocabulary and that of people in 30s and it substantiated that people aged 13 to 18 had much narrow range of vocabulary than the group in 30s. Furthermore, there is a possibility that employees may not be able to work efficiently. Staff would face numerous situations where it requires mental arithmetic skills at a department to get tasks completed quickly. However, if they utilise a calculator, it would be more time -consuming to deal with problems. The Japan Times reported that high performers tend to have excellent mental mathematics skills at their fields. In conclusion, although a large number of civilians feel that fundamental handwriting and mental arithmetic skills are unnecessary abilities because of increase in laptop use, they are extremely important as they can retain letters, and workers can perform amazingly on site.