With the increase in computer use, many people feel that schools do not need to put the emphasis that they used to on basic handwriting skills or mental mathematics skills. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this?

In this era of globalization, the significance of Information Technology has gone up like before resulting into spur in demand for skills related to computer. Many people argue that because of higher use of computer, institutions are no longer required to put many efforts which they used to on skills like handwriting and mental mathematics. I completely agree with this argument and this essay will discuss few reasons as to why this is happening. First and foremost, in last few decades, world’s education institutions have adopted a system where they will only be teaching modules to students which are high in demand or expected to be paying heavily in their career. As a result of which, school’s focus are rather shifted to teaching skills related to gadgets or technology and computer than traditional way of teaching. Since, typing would be the demand of future while applying or working in companies; it will be a waste of time and resources to put efforts on learning old-fashioned techniques such as handwriting or mathematics. Another important reason, however connected with first one, is that amid Covid-19 top organizations are shifting their working to technology dependent techniques where they can allow employees to work from home. Consequently, the requirement of typing and software skills will grow further and the basic handwriting or mathematics talent will obsolete further. In a nutshell, school and other educational institutes needs to keep them up to date and keep a close eye of industry demand as to what kind of talent needs to be produced in order to maintain higher employability. Therefore, I am a strong advocate of this belief that traditional skills like basic handwriting or mental mathematics are not needed to be emphasized by the schools.