With the help of technology, people find it easier to connect to others via social networks. Do you think the benefits of online communication are outweighed by the disadvantages?

It is without dispute that the advancement of newly-introduced technology facilitates human beings in keeping in touch with others through social media. While this tendency may trigger some adverse ramifications, I would contend that they are eclipsed by the merits. On the one hand, the usage of social networking could potentially pose certain threats for human beings. To commence with, the excessive dependence on those cutting-edge applications may render people reluctant to real life relationships and outdoor activities. As a consequence, they may lead a sedentary life that makes them vulnerable to mental and physical health illnesses ranging from autism to cardiovascular diseases. This could result in a decline in people’s basic ability to socialize and interact with others on a day-to-day basis. Other reverse problems include higher risk of losing their writing abilities as they may use abbreviated words too frequently while using social media. On the other hand, despite the aforementioned demerits, I am strongly convinced that the benefits are far more considerable. To begin with, these state-of-the-art applications facilitate people who study abroad or live far away from their families whenever they want provided that they are well-armed with Internet-connected devices. To give a concrete example, students studying abroad can keep in contact with their loved ones on a daily basis by using the calling features of Facebook or Skype. Additionally, the usage of networks is also beneficial in marketing and business. Precisely, employees can keep their clients updated with products and promotions through posting campaigns on Facebook or Instagram, which inevitably leads to an increase in the efficiency and productivity. In conclusion, although the advancement of social media may trigger various worrying issues, I am believed that the merits are much greater.