With the advancement in Science and Technology, new inventions are coming up. It is claimed that the future will be of driverless vehicles and the role of people will reduce to just being a traveller.

With the advancement in Science and Technology, new inventions are coming up. It is claimed that the future will be of driverless vehicles and the role of people will reduce to just being a traveller. This essay will try to put forth the pros and cons of this issue and will form an informed opinion on this. To begin with, there are numerous merits of this development. The predominant one is the chance of causing accidents will decrease significantly. In other words, humans can lose focus and attention while driving which can result in fatality whereas driverless vehicles are trained to be more attentive and make fewer mistakes. For instance, people who drive Tesla claim that it is safer than other traditional vehicles. There will also be reduction in drunk driving cases; moreover, it will follow all the traffic rules implemented by the government. Driverless vehicles do not require fuels they use batteries to work. Thus, it will create less environmental pollution. On the other hand, the disadvantages of this technology cannot be overlooked. There will be a higher unemployment rate since the drivers will not be needed. This can affect their mental health and can suffer from illnesses like depression, stress, or anxiety. In addition, the maintenance cost of these vehicles will be considerably high which will put a lot of pressure on the government. Moreover, people will not learn to drive manually due to the availability of driverless cars. In my opinion, the pros are more significant than the drawbacks and can easily outweigh them. The safety of the citizens is more essential and driverless technology can significantly reduce the dependency of vehicles on natural resources.