With advancements in medicine, many people are living longer lives, well into old age. What are the impacts of an increasingly aging population? How can societies maintain this development?

People today live longer than ever before. Medical breakthroughs, especially antibiotics, have enabled millions of people worldwide to extend their lifespans by decades, living near 100 years of age. This changing global demographic is putting various burdens on society as well as bringing certain benefits. I believe the greatest challenges posed by an aging population are demand for resources both natural and social; however, these can be alleviated through technology and regulation. When people get into retirement, they continue to consume not only food and shelter, but also time and finances. As the percentage of aging population increases, governments need to spend billions of extra dollars on medical care. As well, thousands of tonnes of food are eaten by the elderly which are no longer available for the next generation. For instance, I read in an article last year that the UK government spent two billion pounds over budget to sustain the aging population’s medical needs. Fortunately, there are solutions to these challenges. In order to sustain the growing population of people between 70 and 100 years-of-age, governments must establish clear regulations which aid in controlling the consumption of resources. Although it may be difficult at first, new regulations need to be put into place that restricts the amount living space, food-stuffs and medical treatments that people over the age of 70 are entitled to. Already such limitations can be observed in hospital systems where younger individuals are given priority over elderly waiting for organ transplants, such as kidney replacement. In the future, society must also implement space restrictions, such as people over the age of 70 living independently cannot occupy spaces over 100 square meters. This type of legislation needs to be brought about for future generations to maintain the health of society. In conclusion, humanity can expect that as medicine continues to extend the lives of humans, there is an ever-increasing age of life expectancy which brings with it a variety of hurdles. The most obvious challenges are depletion of resources. Solutions involve regulatory control in areas like food, medicine and living space. It is up to all of society to find the best answers for this dilemma in order to ensure the prosperity of current and future generations.