Art and music classes should not be mandatory at school.

In this modern day and age, there has been a heated and ongoing debate about whether the school’s curriculum should consist of art and music subjects. Therefore, from my point of view, students should not be required to enroll in said type of classes for the following reasons. First and foremost, art and music are considered gifted education, which indicates that some of the lesson-takers may not fit the classes. In particular, making these classes mandatory does not imply that every student will be interested in them, resulting in pupils not being able to pass due to not getting enough credits. To illustrate, statistics surrounding this issue have shown that in the US, students who have not earned full credit in the arts face an increasing risk of dropping out of high school every year during the study, contrasting with the highschoolers who chose to study the arts more intensely and have moved beyond the one-credit graduation requirement being the one at lowest risk of dropout. Secondly, as I have stated before, some of the class-sitters, who may be completely uninterested in the subjects but are still forced to participate in the classes, are creating an unenthusiastic environment for the students that actually want to partake in the lessons. For instance, I myself as an art student have experienced the limited art supplies and materials being used up by those people, and several times me and my peers have had to go without, making it harder for us people who are genuinely interested in art to complete our assignments. In conclusion, being well-rounded is something to strive for, but from my perspective, I believe that art and music classes should not be made compulsory for pupils for the aforementioned reasons. Hence, I think that each school’s curriculum should be constructed for students to be able to focus on their ability, in order to prepare them for their futures.