With access to the internet and social media websites, many children are exposed to a number of dangerous situations. Adults should thus limit access to the internet for their children. Do you agree or disagree?

In the modern world where technology has revolutionised our lives, the internet and social media play a major role. While this has made our world smaller, it also exposes children to many dangers of the World Wide Web. I agree that parents need to be accountable and limit the access of children to these platforms. To begin with, internet is amazing technology which has provided us with information in our hands. What used to take hours of browsing in the library can be found with a simple search on the internet. There was a time when we had to wait weeks, if not months for a letter, we can now connect in an instance. Business meetings had to be scheduled in advance, with expensive travel involved. This can now be done from the comfort of homes over a video call. We can now connect to our long lost friends or make new ones over common interests on social media. Despite all these advantages, there is also a contrasting side which has risen. The ease of internet is not limited to only progress, Anti-social elements are just as adept at its usage. Fraudsters target the vulnerable. There has arisen a completely new branch of crime knows as cyber-crime. Children are being targets of cyber bullying. The ease of internet has enabled children to be exposed adult content without supervision. Kidnappers are able to lure youngsters on social media with fake profiles. It is for this side of the internet that I agree, that parents should supervise the access of children to the internet. To conclude, the internet has revolutionised our world for both good and bad. Parents should play a vital role in educating children about the dangers, and supervise and control access of youngsters to the internet till they are emotionally more mature.