With access to the internet and social media websites, many children are exposed to a number of dangerous situations. Adults should thus limit access to the internet for their children.

Nowadays internet and social media platforms are easily accessible and affordable, as a result of this many kids are prone to hazardous situations. Hence, In my opinion elders should take necessary precautions to restrict the children from the exposure to internet. To commence with, even though some content in world wide web and social media websites are categorized as adult only, the access is not restricted to children. Anyone having an internet connection can watch these and there is no proper security checks done in many cases. For example, there are chances that kids will watch videos having sexual and adult content. Furthermore, cyberspace is the new target of international criminals and even small vulnerabilities in the security can create huge risk. Criminals can steal confidential data from children easily as they are not aware of the importance of the information they share. To deal with this, adults should make sure that children are using internet in their presence. Avoid giving personal laptop or mobile phones to kids and keep a track of sites they are visiting and the content they are accessing. In addition to this, there are softwares which can identify malicious sites and block the user from accessing it. Parents can install these as an additional security measure. For instance, using firewalls and anti-virus softwares will provide extra protection to our data. To conclude, I would like to say, if adult siblings and parents would give some attention and time to their children and educate them about the ethical uses of the internet and social media sites, they would be safer and away from life threatening situations.