With access to the internet and social media websites, many children are exposed to a number of dangerous situations. Adults should thus limit access to the internet for their children. Do you agree or disagree?

A section of people hold an opinion that unrestricted usage of web and social media platforms is causing children especially teenagers to face hazardous situations hence parents and guardians need to contain and monitor how their wards are utilizing it. I completely agree with the above perspective. In this essay I will illustrate the few ways in which cyberspace and social media sites can have unwanted influence on youngsters. Firstly due to tremendous advancement in digital and electronic media it has become mandatory for public to possess a mobile phone specifically teenagers. As a result people across the world are addicted to their social media profiles and the ritual of posting pictures and check-ins has become quite popular among youth. Because of this criminals are targeting and taking advantage of such platforms to attack and target their vulnerabilities resulting in many unwarranted incidents like stalking, hate crimes, rapes etc. , For instance a recent murder and rape case of a lady doctor is an explicit example of stalking and hate crime and three among 5 offenders are found to be juvenile whom when enquired told that they have been observing her social media account to track her. Such untoward incidents warrant extreme caution and vigilance from guardian and parents. Secondly media and web space these days are promoting a lot of violent and obscene content and with little to no censorship of these mediums teenagers are more often than not are exposed to explicit videos and pornographic content. Because of this their innocent and naive brains are effected drastically that can cause irrevocable damage to their psyche provoking them to commit of plethora of illegal activities and placing them in danger. Not only this social media platforms in this age has become information hub to many anti-social elements searching for young impressionable minds which they can readily mould to suit their purposes. To illustrate as a terrorist oraganization named ISIS released a video of beheading of few people on internet and various social media sites, in view of this a young boy ran away from his house to join this said group in Syria expressed his intent after he was found. To conclude even though social media and cyber web to a great extent have bad influence on adolescents and children we cannot ignore the fact that lack of parental monitoring and moral conditioning also contributing to such incidents. Hence it is the responsibility of parents to monitor their wards internet activity and also educate them and create awareness about the risks involved while indulging in it. To achieve this there are innumerable parental control applications available.