With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement in technology, the mortality percentage has dropped, resulting in the increase of the world population, which raises the issue of providing food for everyone. It is thought by some that this problem can be solved by genetically modifying the food because of quick growth. However, I strongly disagree due to health and economic concerns. Although GM foods have their advantages and mainly that it can be available throughout the year because of speedy growth as compared to traditional farming. For instance, the fruits that are only available in the summers or winters now one can easily buy in any season. Such as, one can easily purchase oranges throughout the year. Nevertheless, the demerits of GM foods outweigh its benefits. Basically, the DNA structure of these foods is modified that has a harmful effect on the human race. According to researchers, it has not only increases the allergies among people, but also they are resistant to antibiotics. Therefore, these foods are not good for health. Additionally, GM foods are a threat to the economy and the unemployment rate of a country. Most of the companies have invested heavily in the production of these foods and patent the seeds. These seeds are expensive and farmers cannot afford them, as a result, big corporations controlling the market price of vegetables and fruits. This has led farmers to abandon the farming resulting in an increase in unemployment. For example, in India, about 40% of the population is associated with farming and according to recent surveys, many have either left this occupation or committed suicide because of GM foods. Therefore, these foods are negatively affecting the economy and the employment rate of a country. In conclusion, although one can easily purchase GM food the whole year, but it will negatively affect the health, but also the economy and employment percentage of a country. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the notion that GM foods are the only solution for providing food to a large population.