Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Although many would argue that advertisements introduce new products to us to help improve our lives, I think that advertisement influences us to purchase things that really we do not need. Marketing executives use appealing advertising strategies to influence consumers to purchase their products. An example is the strategy used by supermarkets to attract kids by placing candies and sweets on the lower shelves and near the counters to remind kids about the products. Advertisers also intoduce new product features on their products and sell them to their targeted audiences majorly selling on the differential features which are not usually necessary. For example, the new I phone XS max which is being marketed stunning Super Retina displays, a faster and improved dual camera system that offers breakthrough photo and video features. As a result of these focus on the new features, many people are trying to get the new iphone X max which functions just like its predecessor the iphone X. Another strategy that advertising banks on is mind psychology. Advertisments will promote sle on products and influence the consumer to purchase the products with the notion of buying the product at a more affordable cost. For example, during black friday, most stores will put sale on their products and indicate. 99 prices which plays with the consumers mind to think that the prices are significantly reduced. Consequently, most products are sold during these sales and usually at around the usual cost. In conclusion, our purchasing behaviours and patterns are heavily influenced by many factors including but not limited to advertising strategies used.