Will digital money be replaced with paper money?

Money has been the main source of currency since the first days of civilization. However, now times have changed, and many people use credit cards debit cards and other forms of cash to pay for the products they want to consume. Paper money has always been a ‘traditional way’ to pay but sudden rise of electronic usage has increased dramatically and also with recent events like COVID-19 has prompted the use of electronic money due to many factors like convenience. So, will paper money be substituted by electronic money, there are certain advantages and disadvantage in using electronic money, but one main issue couldn’t be resolved is security. You can’t really know the numbers on your screen is really real, unless you hold a note on your hand from the ATM. But what if we become a cashless society where there wouldn’t be an ATM, people would lose the sense of security of knowing that the money on their screen is really real unless money can be transfer into real notes. And can this change your life and everyone else, but personally, I don’t think that paper money will be replaced with electronic money, but rather both will co-exist since one cannot survive without the other. During COVID-19 times, it has now increasingly common for people to shop online where they cannot use paper money and coins to pay due to quarantines. Thus, people eventually embrace the modern method of payment to be able to participate in online commerce. With the technological advancements in the banking system, nowadays people are presented with numerous ways of paying for purchases. It is often said that electronically operated banking cards will displace the use of paper money and coins. However, I don’t believe that modern payment methods will take over completely from traditional banknotes and coins due to the fact that paper money is the real value behind the numbers on your bank account. Even though electronic cards have brought tremendous comforts and convenience to people, these cannot entirely replace the traditional money exchange. Paper money and metal coins have long been used as a medium of exchange and a standard of value in almost all societies. Thus, the traditional monetary system has a cultural, historical and social background which are impossible to change. Internet banking is not always fully secured. There is ample evidence of computer viruses, hackers and crimes. And not many people have the same knowledge as others when it comes to technologies such as elderly. This is a downside to digital money where paper money could fill in the gap, but also to realise its benefits that paper money couldn’t do. In conclusion, usage of cards is dependent upon the knowledge of person whether its digital or paper money, both are play a part on our society. With recent events like COVID-19 has made us realise the convenience of digital money but no matter how you look at it, paper money will not be replaced by electronic money, but two continues to co-exist.