Why there is an increasing in the working hours in recent times. Discuss

In recent times due to increase in competition at work’s place, people must give their best in order to stay ahead of their colleagues in terms of competition. The desire to stay ahead has led to increase in working hours, thus creating imbalance in professional and personal life. In some organizations working for long hours is the sign of hard work and dedication which to some extent is true. People sacrificing their leisure time to complete the given target is the sign of utmost dedication and professionalism. To excel in a particular stream, one needs to put dedicated 10000 hours of work. So, if a person who works for long hours every day is bound to excel early compared to others who chose to work for less hours. Working for long hours is advantageous to both company as well as an individual. Company will be able to achieve their targets early which in turn will benefit that individual as well. Also, a person who works long hours every day is bound to stay ahead of the competition. Even though there are numerous advantages of working for long hours, there are equal number of disadvantages as well. Regularly working for long hours can leads to various problems like work life fatigue, social life getting affected, deteriorating physical health etc. I read an article where it was written that chief editor of a reputed news channel had to retire prematurely due to over burdening of work which led to work fatigue. Few of my friends had to cut down their work as it was negatively affecting their physical health at a very young age. Finally, I would like to conclude that there in no wrong in working for long hours, but one should also try to find leisure time to recharge themselves. One should hit a gym or go on a walk or spend time with friends and family which will help to stay physically and mentally fit. Work is important but not at the cost of someone’s health. As there is quote saying, ” health is wealth”. One should always try to find a right balance between personal and professional life.