Some people think only managers should make decisions for the companies. Other people think all employees should be involved in decision making.

It is widely acknowledged that in most companies, the opportunity of making decisions is confined to the management staff. However, some people believe that all workers should be granted such opportunities. I tend to disagree with them. On the one hand, enabling all staff to make decisions is beneficial for the development of the company to some extent. To be more specific, this makes employees believe that they are valued by their employers, and the mutual trust between them will increase the margins of corporations by improving staff’s work efficiency, since this better relationship can motivate employees to give their best / to work to the best of their ability. On the other hand, leaders’ decisions are often more pragmatic and reasonable than those of employees. It is widely accepted that the vast majority of managers have strong mastery of trade policies, the advantages of their products and the preferences of consumers, and this knowledge enables them to make sensible decisions, in most cases. Conversely, employees do not have a proper picture of these facets, so they have a higher tendency to make wrong decisions, putting the company in a disadvantageous position or even causing financial loss to their employers. In addition, it is generally acknowledged that employees’ experience and knowledge vary from person to person, so they are more likely to make conflicting decisions about the same issue, making it difficult to implement all the decisions. Meanwhile, this may result in disputes among workers, which is detrimental to the harmonious functioning of their companies, since we are in an increasingly teamwork-oriented workplace where cooperation plays an imperative role. In conclusion, while granting employees’ opportunities to make decisions for their employers can enhance their work efficiency, their decisions are not always practical or reasonable and hence decision making should be left to leaders.