why teenagers are under increasing pressure to work hard in teenagers' studies

Children and young people have different education. It’s not only based on their age but it’s also based on the country they live in. This difference leads to the fact that while teenagers in some countries have much free time to do what they want, in order places, learning and working hard take up most of the youth’s spare time, which means they are under a lot of pressure nowadays. There are many causes why teenagers are under increasing pressure to work hard in teenagers' studies nowadays, but from my point of view, the first and common causes of these are grades and examinations. Most adults believe that the “smart children” have to have a high grade and be good at that examination. These causes bring teenagers to the negative thoughts that they are just intelligent when they have a high grade and good examination. If a teenager does not go to school or academics, they won’t be open-minded and abase themself. Furthermore, some teenagers cheat in the examination because if they don't have an excellent result, they will have a physical punishment. The increasing pressure to work hard in studies of teenagers so much so that a recent report of Childline said that they delivered over 2, 795 counseling sessions on exam stress between 2018-2019, with a third of these helped in April and May alone. These causes are more common in Asian countries than in Europe or American countries. Moreover, these causes are negatively affecting young people’s mental health, causing some to self-harm or suicidal thoughts and suicide attempts. The second cause is parental pressures. “I just want my children to be happy”, which is a rebuttal to explain why they put so much pressure on their children. They want their children to become a more intelligent, more successful person than they are now. Psychologists call this behavior perfectionism, and it is increasing over time. According to Psychologists Thomas Curran and Andrew Hill, they said unhealthy perfectionism is increasing in teenagers, with the biggest increase in those who felt pressured by other people's expectations. As the authors of the study said, perfectionism is a mix of unduly high personal standards and severe self-criticism. Sometimes, perfectionism can lead to eating disorders, depression, high blood pressure, and thoughts of suicide. While everyone, especially teenagers’ parents, believes the only key to success in life is learning. The fact that Bill Gates gave up studying at Harvard University, a prestigious and famous university in the world, to found Microsoft. And right now he is the 4th richest people in the world according to Forbes. Additionally, the education system and school should decrease the amount of homework, examinations and encourage students to spend their leisure time pursuing hobbies, or doing what they want to do. Moreover, the education system and school shouldn’t assess students by grade, as a replacement, students should be assessed comprehensively. In conclusion, teenagers have different leisure time based on the culture where they live and how they were educated in. If we arrange rest time and work schedule properly, we can reduce unwanted anxiety, stress and increase our productivity.