WHY SHOULD THE TEACHERS ALLOW TO USE THEIR SMART PHONESOR OTHER MOBILE DEVICES FOR INSIDE CLASS WRITING ACTIVITIES?

Smart devices are being widely used everywhere. The use of smartphones and mobile devices in the classroom is also increasing. Those devices have many features that students can use to their advantage when learning English. Therefore, I think that allowing EFL students to utilize cellphones or other mobile devices for written learning tasks is a good idea in class because it helps students to look up information or data from a variety of sources and checks vocabulary quickly as they practice writing. The main reason why I agree with that is because EFL students use smart phones or other mobile devices to look up many different sources of information or data for their writing. The data information is already available on the web and students only need to access it to filter their ideas. According to the study of Shahbaz and Khan (2017), they stated that The World Wide Web and internet access to books, audio or video cassettes, or photocopies of journal articles were examples of online libraries, as were links to digital information that could be viewed online (p. 68). For example, teacher brings up a topic and asks students to write an essay on the condition that they include sources and citations, therefore, students can access the internet to add information to make their writing more coherent more lost. Siregar (2020) argued that mobile learning allows anybody to access information and learning materials from anywhere and at any time and it will be used to teach the English language to students in the study utilizing mobile learning with an emphasis on their writing abilities (p. 2). Because of those things, students can access from their mobile phone, whenever they need it to improve their writing skill. Another reason why I support that notion is because it helps EFL students to check vocabulary quickly as they practice writing. There are hundreds and thousands of applications available to help look up and learn vocabulary, and those applications are almost free, so students can easily check vocabulary in the process of learning write an essay. In 2021, Alsaied, & Akhtar found that all of the students said that using thesaurus apps helped them improve their vocabulary and writing abilities (p. 14). Yafei, & Osman (2016) mentioned that it has been discovered that mobile learning improves L2 learning and retention (p. 288). These things have been said that nowadays mobile devices are connected to the internet and can be easily accessed by students anytime, anywhere, so they will help students students overcome practice problems and language exposure when they write. Opponents of allowing EFL students to use smart devices in writing class said that those devices will make students lose concentration and don't spend time studying. An example that we can see that in class, while the teacher is giving a lecture, students are using their phones to do private work like texting, chatting with someone. This shows that the students did not pay attention to the teacher's lecture. Salem, & Bakhsh (2017) stated that students squander their time by sending SMS, therefore the majority of them do not study effectively. Students who use their phones often do not concentrate on their academics (p. 27). In 2013, Yousaf, & Ahmed (2013) said that it has been discovered that the more SMS exposure a university student has, the worse their writing abilities become (p. 389). However, as stated above, today's society has changed and technology has been advanced, so it is very necessary for students to use mobile devices in writing class for to learning. Thus, we can't deny that the benefits it brings for just a small reason. In my opinion, teachers should still allow students to use smartphones or other mobile devices in writing activities in light of the fact that it helps students to look up information or data from a variety of sources and checks vocabulary quickly as they practice writing. EFL students still have to consider the purpose of use to avoid affecting everyone around and especially not affecting their own studies.