''Why Northwestern'' Statement

Journalism became one of the significant and responsible professions. For me, journalism is always about research work that is highly developed at Northwestern. In this university students have a lot of resources for doing research work, exploring, and inventing something new, so this is also the reason why I want to study at Northwestern. In high school, I was fond of conducting research. One of my biggest works was research about “the impact of books on teens and children”. Doing this work I was discovering and collecting different types of information, interviewing a lot of people in our school. After completing my project, I was confident that I want to study the field of journalism. Medill School of journalism impressed me the most, not only with a high ranking but also with opportunities in different programs. Learning about media startups in San Francisco or internships in the largest publishing houses is what makes Medill school special for me. Also, I would like to take part in educational short-term programs such as writing research work during travel, organized by professors in Medill. I am glad that the university allows being a versatile person and provides programs such as Science Club that has more than 50 mentors in STEM. Also, I see myself in the IMC club, working on social media strategy or developing a plan to brand. The community and people at Northwestern inspired me a lot. I want to get involved outside of the classroom by joining student committees, maybe even becoming a leader on a committee, as it was in my high school when I was president of my class. I know for sure that If I become part of the Northwestern family I can make my greatest contribution as a journalist.