why might people want to research the history of their families? is it a negative or positive development?

It has become more common, in some locations around the globe, to discover the past of the family members of someone. Knowing ancient people lived is important in identifying issues that can influence somebody's life. I think this development may cause problems related to the privacy of the persons who are being researched. It is crucial, in some cases, to have detailed information about the past of our families. Knowing how, when or where those individuals lived can be beneficial in many aspects. One of these, is the details about the medical data of that family. Such information is vital in determining some diseases, and based on this, decisions can be made effectively to avoid undesirable consequences. For example, there are a number of diseases which are transferred by genes, such as cancer. Therefore, it is very important to discover such issues as early as possible to prevent or cure them in the future. However, these data belong to someone's private life. Thus, researching in this field can have a negative impact. Specially in the time of the modern technology, these information can have harmful results on individuals. Even though, these researches are for scientific purposes, in most cases, but there is no guarantee for protection against illegal publication. For instance, there are many websites host scientific papers, which were publishes illegally. Thus, this is would not be a good development for individual's life as it violates the privacy. To conclude, people are looking for the history of their families to help them in identifying any crucial problems. However, this can lead to undesirable results as it makes the privacy of someone extremely exposed for sharing with the public.