Thuongmai University (TMU) increasingly attracts

Known as a multi-disciplinary university, especially in the field of economics, Thuongmai University (TMU) increasingly attracts many students to choose as a place where they spend their “4 years of youth”. However, many people wonder about its strengths and weaknesses in terms of its ability to compete with other universities in Vietnam, let's find out! Here are its strengths. First of all, the training quality is up to standard. A good university must be a place with good quality training. According to Wikipedia, on March 30, 2018, the Education Accreditation Center (Hanoi National University) certified TMU to meet the educational quality standards issued by the Minister of Education and Training. The rate of satisfactory criteria is 85. 2%. It is equivalent to Foreign Trade University, higher than National Economics University and Academy of Finance. In fact, the lectures are not 100% theoretical. Accompanying the theory sessions are discussion sessions, also known as 'discussion season' by students. Moreover, good lecturers are also a plus point of the university. Most of the teachers have studied and researched in countries with a developed educational background. Besides, there are also foreign teachers and visiting lecturers. The second strength is TMU’s environment and facilities. The learning environment is extremely friendly and healthy. The campus is green, clean, beautiful, the lecturers are very sociable and modern. Because all students' questions which are written on the teacher’s facebook account or on the university's fanpage are answered very quickly. Not only that, but TMU also listens and absorbs the ideas of students. Typically, students want a gymnasium for volleyball and handball, it also responds. Especially during the covid pandemic, Thuongmai Unversity is also a pioneer in epidemic prevention, advising to donate money and rice to field hospitals, reducing tuition fees, and providing online support for students. It also has many clubs, where friendship, teacher-student friendship, and skills development are built. Facilities are highly appreciated. The classroom system is 100% air-conditioned, with wifi covering the whole Cambridge, . . . TMU's lecture halls can accommodate 50-200 students. With newly renovated hall H1, including 2 floors, can accommodate up to 1000 people. It has just completed the construction of an 11-storey learning material building with a modern design, which meets the needs of students for reading, research, club development, etc. In addition, the school is under construction of other fine projects. The third is the scholarship. Every year, TMU spends 20 billion VND for the scholarship fund to encourage learning and support learners. In addition, it has about 15-20 scholarship programs sponsored by businesses and corporations for students with a total value of up to billions of VND, typically: KOVA scholarships, Nitori international scholarships, Vừ A Dính scholarship, “Thắp sáng niềm tin” scholarship, . . . Along with the strengths, TMU still has some weaknesses. Firstly, TMU students have not been highly appreciated by employers. Despite being among the top universities in the field of economics in Vietnam, students of TMU are still underestimated when competing with economic schools such as Foreign Trade University, National Economics University, or Academy of Finance. Therefore, many students do not have a job in the right field after graduating from school. According to the 2018 Graduate Employment Report, Thuongmai University conducted a survey on a total of 3820 graduates in 2018, of which 806 students had jobs in the right field of training, accounting for about 21%, 960 students have jobs related to training, accounting for about 25% and 514 students have jobs not related to training, accounting for 13. 4%. Second, career orientation activities and connecting students with businesses activities are still limited. In fact, the school has implemented career guidance activities such as the 8th career day festival (2021), . . . but it is still limited and activities are still based on theory, not in practice much. The connection between students and businesses is still weak. Every university has strengths and weaknesses, nothing is perfect. With the slogan "Where your future begins", the school has always been a second home to accompany students to light up and follow their dreams.