Why is this the case? What are the benefits of travelling for the traveler?

There has no doubt been a drastic increase in the number of voyagers in recent decades. This essay will explain the reason for this growth as well as its advantages for viators. To begin with, the crucial driver of the increase of people's interest in voyages is the rapid development of the aviation industry and the extension of a network of airports around the world. In consequence, it has made possible the emergence of massive, fast and relatively cheap flights. As an example of a cardinal shift in speed, it can be cited the following comparison: the average pace of travel on horseback a hundred years ago was about 50 km per day, today the plane flies have 700 km per hour. Thus, people have appreciated this cheap, convenient and fast way to travel long distances. Travels contain an inexhaustible source of advantages, and in the first place is the cross-cultural exchange. It contributes to international connections which can bring promote cultural collaborations in the long term. It also promotes cross-cultural awareness for both locals and tourists and builds bridges of understanding between cultures. It can be quoted the words of Mark Twain said that travel is destructive for prejudice, fanaticism and narrow-mindedness and it is impossible to gain broad, healthy and merciful views on people and things, staying in the same place all one's lifetime. To conclude, affordable air travel offers unprecedented freedom of movement, vastly increasing the number of voyagers. Therefore, people have the opportunity to be acquainted with unfamiliar traditions and views and gain a broader, more informed and benevolent view of both the people and places they encounter as well as of humanity and the world in general.