Why is religion, why is the critique of religion so central for Marx?

The quotation submitted for our analysis is taken from "A Contribution to the Critique of Hegel's Philosophy of Right, " Early Writings, 243-57, written by Karl Marx in the period December 1843 and January 1844. In it Marx tells us about the importance of religion and religious dogma in our society. He highlights the omnipresence of religion in society and attempts to critique it. Although the pejorative character of a critique is difficult to dissociate from it, Marx's aim here is to make an in-depth analysis of it in order to better understand its methods of operation. This is embedded in his thinking throughout his writing, where after initiating the critique of religion, he turns to the analysis of German society in general. Here, our aim will be to identify how and why the philosophical analysis of religion is a central theme for Marx. To do so, we will study the importance of religion and its different meanings. Then we will see why criticism of religion is inevitable in order to improve the human condition. Marx sees religion as a painkiller that can alleviate human suffering. This is why Marx refers to religion as the "opium of the people"(Contribution). He emphasizes the analgesic character of religion. He claims that it keeps man away from his own awareness of his condition, his misery. It allows the domination of the bourgeois class (which was the nobility from the Ancien Régime until the industrial revolution) over the rest of the population to be masked. Thus, by diverting the human being from his struggles, it does not prevent him from his own alienation. That is, the dispossession of the human essence by the human. However, if religion is seen as a painkiller, the question is now what is pain to forget? According to Marx, the aim is to avoid facing misery, and in this, it is a form of «protest against real suffering» (Contribution). Indeed, here the protest is not active against the oppressor but passive in denying its existence. Marx identifies the evil that eats away at the human condition: the bourgeoisie. Indeed, as he explains in the 1848 Manuscripts, the bourgeoisie sets up a system based on capital and private property which oppresses and wears out proletarians who have only their labour power in exchange. Thus, we realise that instead of being a way of caring for Man, which would lead to his emancipation. Religion through the acceptance of suffering is a condition for the status quo of bourgeois society. Religion as an "illusory happiness" (Contribution) distracts the humans from their problems, their misery and therefore from their struggles. However, religion is also seen as a reflection of society and thus a reflection of the misery of the world. Marx speaks in the Contribution of "the expression of real suffering". Moreover, religion as a "general theory" allows the analysis of society through its simple analysis. It is therefore a means of understanding society and what is wrong with it. In this respect, religion is much more a symptom than a disease. Marx's critique of religion therefore inevitably leads to a critique of the world. Once again, criticism takes on the meaning of global analysis rather than judgement. And this criticism is what Marx calls Philosophy. Philosophy is resolutely an analysis of religion, and then of the socio-political organisation that makes up our society, which are law, politics and the labour force. So we should now ask ourselves why this critique is so important for Marx. The critique of religion and the world is ultimately so central because it is necessary for human emancipation. Emancipation means in Marxist logic, the liberation of the human from bourgeois domination. Whereas capitalist society, through the division of labour, causes the indentation of the human condition, i. e. the separation of the human being from his social essence. This is overcome by emancipation. Emancipation brings the human being back to his social essence. The critique of religion as a reflection of society leads to a critique of the capitalist organisation of the world. This time, the critique of bourgeois society has a definitively more pejorative character than the simple analysis of how things work. Indeed, Marx's critique of the world aims at highlighting the bourgeois oppression of the proletarians. In the Contribution, we notice that the criticism of religion gives way to the criticism of law and politics.