Why is it important to integrate Cooperative Learning in an EFL classroom?

Cooperative Learning is a pedagogical strategy used in EFL classrooms and its importance is based on the effectiveness to foster motivation and cooperative learning among students. Since cooperation has been integrated in EFL classrooms, students are allowed to socialize and share knowledge. But it is essential to consider some issues to have successful results in a cooperative environment. First, teachers should consider the size of the classroom and level of students before placing them in groups. This implies to evaluate the individual skills of learners and how this could affect the performance in groups. Some researchers argue that a perfect group consists of four members with different levels of domain (high, medium, low). Most of the time, this is ignored by teachers. As a result, the groups are not well-balanced which would not let to achieve the objectives proposed causing disagreement and low scores among members. Second, independence and coordination are fundamental in cooperative learning. Instruction is centered in students; teachers only provide support and act as a guide being their intervention limited to the needs or difficulties presented along. However, this suggests learners should own effective instructions about what they need to do especially when it is necessary to present a set of activities. Teachers are responsible to connect previous knowledge with current activities and facilitate the information needed by students opportunely. Next, it is essential to provide diversity assigning specific roles to each partner. These roles will maximize the efficiency and will depend on the strengths and weaknesses of participants, and it can rotate periodically. A good idea is to distribute the roles in the next way: the leader who will clarify the concepts and provide suggestions to other members, the timekeeper who is responsible to control the time in each task, and the monitor who evaluates carefully the accomplishment obtained and provides solutions to eventual disagreements. To conclude, cooperative learning is a challenging strategy with extraordinary and successful results, if teachers consider the conditions where it is applied. If students feel motivate, they will be capable to test their own skills learning and sharing their experiences in a different way. But, further its importance in an EFL classroom, this strategy enables to introduce new perspectives to avoid a common and traditional teaching.