Why has art importance decreased overtime?

In this essay I will describe how society has grown over time and how it has diminished the arts' importance against science. Art itself says a lot about a country's culture because it reflects what it has gone through throughout time, it can reflect many aspects about how the society viewed the place, which makes it worrying the fact that children nowadays are not taught about art. In the most recent days technology and science have taken a lot of importance worldwide because technological improvements do not stop growing every day such as the economy and people are learning to grow with it. The main difference there might be about art and science's importance is that art will always be a symbolic part of history and describe how humanity has lived throughout time all around the world, on the other hand technological science has not always been as important as it is now for human life and it has increased rapidly in the last decades. Five centuries ago arts included all types of activities such as natural sciences and investigations, it helped the world answer questions such as Who are we? , but in the present we are looking to answer questions such as How can we keep growing? Which involves economy, knowledge and technological advances and so much more. In my opinion there must be a balance between the importance of all the areas that make us who we are, but what we should actually pay attention to, is to what is necessary at the time and what can help us to grow and improve.