Why fashions are important to us?

Dress codes exist in every profession. Starting with the uniformed personnel down for the fashion conscious, the populace dress accordingly. Famous fashion designers have often made fashion statements and dictate the fashion trends. Some have managed to maintain the clientele that have remained loyal to the fashion icon but others have moved on to other avantgarde newcomers. The legal fraternity has their black and white attire. The policemen are in their blue uniforms. The army personnel are in their typical jungle khaki wear. Each profession is recognizable by the color. What about the schoolchildren? The drab dull dark blue with a white top has a saving grace in that the dark blue can be dirtied and pass muster. But the secondary blue with white and the male dirty green are not that eye catching. Fortunately preschoolers have quite colorful attire if they need to be uniformed. I am all for decent dressing. Of course, I am in favor of fashion but there is a time and place for everything. Some young adults do not know how to dress for the occasion or the place. They do not know the meaning of decorum or respect. If young adults break the dress rule, what can we expect of the teenagers who are still wet behind the ears? Teenagers should know when not to come in shorts or funny T-shirts. Female teenagers should not be attired in flimsy clothes or short-short skirts for formal occasions. their shoe attire should be appropriate. Flip-flops, unbuckled sandals or dirty sport shoes are no-nos as school fashions. Sometimes, I do not blame these teenagers for their parents are seemingly attired and sometimes we find that mothers are older versions in their daughters' attire. With such role models, is it of any wonder that young ladies fail to see the logic of being appropriately dressed? I feel that older adults should set a good example to the younger generation. I believe that it is fine to adhere to changing fashion but there is always a limit to being overdressed or underdressed for occasions. You do not want an observer or a fashion editor to say that you look like a Christmas tree or an overstuffed turkey. On the other hand, someone might comment that you did not have the cash to buy enough material to sew that outfit. Nevertheless, there are some mothers and fathers and grannies who are fashionable yet decently clothed. These are the ones to be emulated. Blind pursuit of fashion is not the way to keep you in the spotlight. Learning to have a sense of fashion, knowing which style, color or cut suits you would go a long way to turning you into a svelte lady or a smart gentleman.