Why do you want to study Computer Science

Books! Books! Books! Every corner of my home I look at, I can see at least ten Mathematics books. Calculus, Functional analysis, Statistics, you name it. These belong to my father, who is a Mathematics professor. Looking at my father reading those bulky books and digging through daunting formulae and symbols gave my 8-year-old self a portrayal of a wizard and his spellbooks. As a result, I was fascinated and would insist on teaching me as well. To keep me from annoying him, he would give me brainstorming problems to occupy me. I still remember the accomplishment I felt when I solved the problem of a farmer crossing a river with a fox, a goose, and a bag of beans on my 28th try. These trivial questions further instilled my curiosity. The burgeoning interest in analysis and problem solving engendered me to choose Computer Engineering for my undergraduate program. As I became engrossed in Computer Engineering, I got acquainted with Data Science and Machine Learning. It had the perfect balance of programming and mathematics, which I thought was an ideal subject for me. Consequently, I read research papers, developed programs like crop prediction, sentiment analysis, chatbots, and participated in hackathons. My interest was in human behavior analysis, so I incorporated a hotel recommender system into my major project. The hotel recommender system was a hybrid system: Content-based and Collaborative systems. The data acquisition was one of the challenging tasks as adequate information on hotels in my country was not available. The data were scraped off of various Hotel booking sites and were used to train the system. I blundered while choosing the optimum framework because, at that time, the. Net framework lacked libraries to facilitate machine learning. As a result, I coded from scratch and got enlightened regarding platform assessment prior to development. This project taught me to research, assess different approaches, and integrate modules to develop a system. As soon as my finals were over, I worked in Deerwalk Inc. , which gave me a new perspective. I had to work with big-data manipulation and processing. As I worked, I realized that working in a real scenario has variables. The interdependency among multitudes of teams and projects enhanced my critical thinking, communication, and quick decisions. I became nimble in programming, adept enough to be viewed as dependable by seniors and juniors. Moreover, I had four mentees under me. I felt immense satisfaction as they excelled and became independent. My major in high school was biology, to pursue a career as a doctor. However, it did not satiate my penchant for creativity. Thus, I resolved to help people as a creator through technology. The research areas of Prof. Dr. Tulay Adali seemed to align with my interests. Understanding the function of the brain is one of the mysteries that are yet to be solved. As a result, the Study of Brain Function (NIH-NIBIB and NSF-NCS) study piqued my interest. Unlike my current company, which serves insurance companies, I intend to build a patient-centered program. The article Delegated Authorization Framework for EHR Services Using Attribute-Based Encryption (by Maithilee Joshi, Karuna P. Joshi, and Tim Finin) consists of a similar system. Eventually, I intend to use such technology to increase medical accessibility in rural areas with minimal medical practitioners available. While dealing with data, the foremost objective should be building impregnable security, also emphasized in the publication. The Attribute-Based Encryption is dependable for large-volume data cloud computing than Rivest-Shamir-Adleman (RSA) or Data Encryption Standard (DES). Moreover, Medical data is expensive and arduous to obtain. Thus, the Covid-19 project can alleviate the Covid-19 patients' plight mainly encountered by the third world country as mine. As I explored through the UMBC website, I found dedicated laboratories for different fields. Moreover, the dexterous use of Vangogh, the famous artist, as an abbreviation to name the Visualization and Computer Graphics Research lab was intriguing, which illustrates the significance of research activities. Additionally, the first look in the UMBC faculty list showed diversity, so I found it culturally accepting and harmonious. Another point I admired was scholarship provisions to promote the participation of women in technology. Although it is only for undergraduates, I believe it is essential. My class in undergraduate had only seven girls among 40 students, and I worked as the sole female for two years in a team of 25. Thus, encouraging girls who work in the IT industry is critical. After gaining the essential professional experience and work insight in Data Analytics and Big data engineering, this is the optimum time to accentuate my knowledge. My ambitions and desires track down a tremendous match in your program. Thus, I have decided to apply for the M. S. in Computer Science after exploring the Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering of your University. I envisage that I will likely get a graduate degree and afterward indulge in research in the applications of Machine Learning in the medical field and cyber security. It would be an honor to work and concentrate under professors like Prof. Dr. Tim Finin and Prof. Dr. Tulay Adali, which will improve my comprehension of the subject and give me the edge I need to turn into a fruitful scholar in this field. Whenever given a chance, I guarantee that my perseverance, persistence, and urge to excel would drive me to make an exceptional commitment to the University. I anticipate a positive reaction.